My Bullet Journal Fail

I’ve been spending a lot of time on Youtube lately, and in that time I’ve primarily been watching Bullet Journal videos. If you don’t know what a Bullet Journal is, I highly recommend you go check it out. There are plenty of people online who have amazing introductions to the concept such as Doodles by Sarah, Miss Louie, and AmandaRachLee. They do monthly Plan With Me’s so you can see what layouts they use and which worked for them, or didn’t. They also have fantastic tips for beginners that really help in setting a starting place for anyone interested.

The concept originally intrigued me because of the customizable and artistic aspect of it. I thought it would be fun to create my own planner, add habit trackers, growth calendars, weekly planning spreads – it sounded so cool! I decided to give it a shot. All these lovely ladies always say how it’s as easy as picking up a journal and a pen, so thats just what I did. Let’s just say I learned fairly quickly this isn’t for me.

While I love the concept of designing your own planner and drawing all this stuff out, I also found it very time consuming and strenuous. It took me two days to draw out my monthly calendar and to work on the weekly planner, but what really hit me was the hours it took to try and draw out a year at a glance sheet. I just tore everything out of that journal and said screw it. I sadly don’t have the patience or the artistic ability to sit down and draw all these neat little collections and what not.

IMG_0006

However, I did recommend it to several of my more artistically inclined friends, and they couldn’t get enough of it. They all found it to be really inspiring and a great way to practice their art skills daily on something that was both fun and practical. Seeing how they enjoyed it so much, I thought I’d share my fail with you guys, maybe introduce something new to some of you more artistic folks out there. It is an amazing concept and I would love it if I had more patience. For now, I think I’m fine with the pre-made planners.

I hope some of you try it out, and be sure to check out the ladies I mentioned above for beginner tips and inspiration.

3 thoughts on “My Bullet Journal Fail

Add yours

  1. I hear ya! Your experience mirrors mine. Yet I did appreciate the bullet journal concept. Just despised all the drawing. Went searching for a flexible planner, discovered the A5 Hobonichi Cousin Avec (A6 and B6-ish Slim models too), and never looked back. Truly organized and on top of things as a direct result. Hope you’ve found your answer. Worth the hunt!

    Like

    1. I checked that planner out and it looks really neat, a little too complicated for me though. I have a planner by shpplanners off Etsy and it does the job for me. I would have liked to do all the habit trackers and budget stuff in the bullet journal though, they seemed helpful and fun. Just couldn’t do the drawing. I don’t mind filling things in, but when you have to sit there with pencil, pen, and ruler and go over everything a millions times…nope. Just couldn’t do it. Kudos to those who can though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

